Upcoming Events

No event found!


22 4 月 2021


20:30 - 21:30

Marés – Episode 1: ‘A Journey through Spaces & Places’


1.  ‘Quintal’ for flute & guitar, by Mario Ferraro (Guitar: Fabricio Mattos, Flute: Lucas Jordan)
2.  ‘Revoada’ for three flutes, by Bernardo Simões (Flutes: Yi-Hsuan Chen, Mina Middleton, Becky Wang)
3.  ‘Pastoral’ for oboe & piano, by Brenno Blauth (Oboe: Luiz De Campos, Piano: Clelia Iruzun)
4.  ‘Noturno para Chopin: in memoriam’, for accordion & piano, by A. Borges-Cunha (Piano: Clelia Iruzun, Accordion: Iñigo Mikeleiz-Berrade)
5.  ‘Respingos’, for solo piano, by Lúcia Uchôa (Piano: Carla Ruaro)
6.  ‘Canção do Poeta do Século XVIII’, for voice & guitar, by Heitor Villa-Lobos (Singer: Gabriella Di Laccio, Guitar: Fabricio Mattos)
7.  ‘Canção do Amor’, for voice, guitar & flutes, by Heitor Villa-Lobos (Singer: Gabriella Di Laccio, and the shadows: Yi-Hsuan Chen, Mina Middleton, Becky Wang, Lucas Jordan, and Fabricio Mattos)


The Embassy of Brazil in London is pleased to present the first episode of Marés – Journeys into Brazilian Music, a series of three video episodes exploring popular and classical music from Brazil in the 20th and 21st centuries, to be officially premiered on April 22. The series is curated and directed by Brazilian musician Fabrício Mattos and performed by students from the Royal Academy of Music and special guests. Having the composer/cinematographer Bernardo Simões as a film director, each of the three episodes is filled with aesthetic experimentation drawing on the visual possibilities of music, in a way that is integrated into the setting of the performances: the Embassy’s stunning Sala Brasil.

In this first episode, titled ‘A Journey through Spaces & Places’, concrete and abstract ideas on how music is expressed in the Brazilian culture will be explored. The programme features pieces by 20th- and 21st-century composers, offering a glimpse into the diversity and colourfulness of the Brazilian musical landscape.